Vegan Food in Stockholm

Wow time flies I wanted to have this post up weeks ago but life happens and better late than never, right?

Here are my tips for eating vegan in Stockholm.

First of all: Stockholm is such an amazing city. I’ve been there for 5 days and I would have needed at least 5 more days to explore everything and eat everything I wanted to.

Let me give you one non-food tip first: Free Tour Stockholm. I participated in all three tours and loved them all!

Now let’s get down to business food.

Sattva Naturbageriet (Gamla Stan)
IMG_7051

One of the most important things to eat in Stockholm is Kanelbullar which are cinnamon rolls. You can get them everywhere unfortunately they are far off from being vegan. However there is this one organic bakery that sells vegan Kanelbullar. Of course I had to try them and they tasted amazing. Just like all the other things I tried including the chocolate ball you can see on the picture. They don’t just sell pastry but also some savory snacks and almost all of what they sell is vegan and refined sugar free. And there is a large variety of gluten-free choices as well.

Matapoteket (Södermalm)

IMG_6999

I arrived at my AirBNB which was located in SoFo around noon and since I didn’t really have a proper breakfast I was already starving by then. I just dropped of my bags and went out to find food. The first place I stumbled across was this cute raw food restaurant. The place is furnished like an old pharmacy and that’s what their concept is all about: serving raw healthy food as medicine. I had a kombucha, a pad thai salad and raw crackers with a pea dip. The salad was really good! The crackers were nice as well but the dip was lacking some flavor in my opinion. But all in all a really nice place if you like raw food. It’s a little pricy but worth the splurge.

Blueberry Lifestyle (all around Stockholm)

IMG_7028

Blueberry Lifestyle is a good stop in the afternoon when you want to get a little snack. They have a huge variety of smoothies, sandwiches and salads with lots of vegan options. The shops are all over Stockholm so it’ll be easy to find one. The smoothies are really good and not too expensive.

Hermitage (Gamla Stan)

IMG_7085

Just across the street from Sattva Naturbageriet is a restaurant called Hermitage. It’s a buffet style restaurant with Arabic food most of which is vegan. The place itself isn’t really spectacular but the food is good. There isn’t a huge variety of dishes too choose from but they have everything you could wish for. Veggies, greens, bread, soup, 2-3 main dishes and sides like potatoes. It’s also very cheap especially for an all-you-can-eat type of restaurant.

Stikki Nikki (all over Stockholm)

IMG_7040

Ice cream is always a good idea, right? Especially ice cream by Stikki Nikki. They always have vegan flavors to choose from. All the sorbets are vegan naturally and they make some more vegan flavors as well. There’s different flavors every day and also different flavors at every store (that’s a good excuse to get ice cream more than once a day, right?). The ones on the picture were actually the best ones I tried. Vegan peanut butter and lime & beets.

 

Hermans (Södermalm)IMG_7093

I’ve I could take one restaurant with me to Munich it would be Hermans. I’ve been there 3 times in 5 days and I’m so not sorry about that. It’s another vegetarian/vegan buffet style restaurant. The location itself is worth going there. You get one of the most wonderful views over Stockholm while enjoying amazing food. They have a large variety of salads, curries, pasta dishes, sides, bread, spreads, fruits etc. They also offer cake which isn’t included in the all-you-can-eat price but is worth the extra pennies. Oh and it’s also quite cheap for the amount of high quality food you get. I highly recommend you to eat there when you’re in Stockholm.

Hälsocafet (Södermalm)

IMG_7066

This is heaven for all instagramers. This whole place is in your face insta-worthy. But in a 100% positive way. They serve everything one can wish for. You could spend your whole day eating there from breakfast to late night snack. I had a smoothie bowl and a snickers cake which both were to die for! Not the cheapest place to eat but another place that’s worth the splurge.

Orange County Foods (Norrmalm)

IMG_7060

On Sunday night I was literally trying to get food at three different places around 6pm and they all told me that they all told me that their kitchen was already closed. So in the end my plan was to go to Paradiset (an organic grocery store) and just get some things to eat at my AirBNB. But then I found Orange County Foods which was located inside the Paradiset store. They serve different types of bowls that you can customize yourself. And if you know me than you know how much I love bowls. I had a bowl of rice with spinach, tofu, edamame and ginger. It was a really yummy and filling meal. So if you find yourself as lost and starving in Stockholm as I was give it a shot.

Those are all my Stockholm food tips for now. But since I fell in love with this city I’m definitely planning on coming back so if you have any more tips let me know in the comments. Until then:

IMG_7071

Leave a Reply

