Basic granola recipe (oil-free & sugar-free)

granola

Anyone else as obsessed with granola as I am?

I wasn’t able to go a day without granola for the last couple of weeks. It makes a perfect addition to my breakfast oatmeals and smoothie bowls and it’s also perfect as a study snack or dessert with some fruit.

img_1941

If there was a vitamin granola I would definitely not be deficient in that one.

Since I made quite a few batches of that stuff lately I have figured out my personal favorite basic recipe that I make some additions to here and there depending on what flavors I feel like that day.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  • 1/2 cup almonds
  • 3/4 cup dates
  • 1/4 cup raisins/cranberries
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup apple sauce
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon

Instructions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 160Β°C (320Β°F).
  2. Chop up the cashews, almonds and dates.
  3. Mix all the dry ingredients in a big bowl. (At this point you might want to add any other additions. I also love to add some pumpkin seeds, shredded coconut, cacao nibs,…)
  4. In a smaller bowl stir together the wet ingredients.
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and and mix until everything is well combined.
  6. Spread your mixture and a baking sheet on your baking tray and bake for about 25-35 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. I would recommend to open the oven every 10 minutes to let out the steam and also stir your mixture a bit so it gets nice and crumbly.
  8. Let it cool down completely before you can store it in an airtight container.
  9. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

