Chocolate pancakes

I love Sundays, I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before.
To me Sundays are all about sleeping in, spending hours in bed even after waking up and having a decadent breakfast once I actually manage to get out of bed.
Most Sundays, my treat of choice are pancakes they are so easy to make and are super versatile. I love experimenting with different flavor combinations in my pancakes and this time I wanted something super chocolaty.

img_4619

Ingredients:

For the pancakes:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 – 2 tbsp cacao powder
  • 1 1/4 cups almond milk
  • pinch of baking soda

For the chocolate sauce:

  • 2 tbsp cacao powder
  • 1 tbsp agave nectar
  • almond milk

 

Instructions:

  1. Put the oats into a blender and grind them until you have oat flour. For these I blended it quite long to get a rather fine flour.
  2. Add in the banana, the cacao powder (if you don’t like your pancakes to have a tart chocolate flavor I’d recommend you using only 1 – 1.5 tbsp but I like them quite tart so I used 2 tbsp), almond milk and a pinch of baking soda.
  3. Blend everything nicely and let it sit for about 10 minutes to thicken up a little.
  4. Meanwhile heat up your non.stick pan to low heat.
  5. Once it’s hot spoon in your batter, I used 2 tbs per pancake and wait for bubbles to appear. When the surface of your pancakes has some bubbles and the edges got darker it’s time to flip them and let them bake for a few more minutes.
  6. If you are able to multi task you can now start making your chocolate sauce by simply adding the cacao and the agave in a small bowl and slowly adding sips of almond milk. Whisk it and add more almond milk until you achieved your desired consistency.
  7. Once all the pancakes are done top them with your chocolate sauce and any other toppings you’d like and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

